OUR REVIEWS

Don't Take Our Word For It

We do it right, the first time.  Take a peak at our latest reviews!

Fix It People IconFix It People

2837 North Halsted Street #1s, Chicago

4.7 118 reviews

  • Avatar Paige Lassen ★★★★★ in the last week
    The Fix It People team of Joe & Victor did a fantastic job repairing extensive … More water damage resulting from an ice dam situation. They were punctual, very professional, thorough, and kept us informed about their progress along the way. They went above and beyond AND finished on time. Additionally, they noticed a problem with our door which we planned to get repaired and sent Tony out to take care of it! Will definitely use them again.
  • Avatar Cooper Slack ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I called the Fix It People to help with a door handle that had broken off. The team … More at Fix It were able to get back to me promptly via email with an easy process of approving quotes and such. Taylar was able to come get it fixed and was in and out within 5 minutes or so! Will call again for any fixes I need.
  • Avatar Patricia Calore ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    The best! We've been a repeat customer since late 2016. Fix It People has … More been an extremely reliable resource for numerous issues requiring attention within our condo. Most recently, we had a need for painting of a portion of our 20' ceiling; we are a 3rd floor walk-up to boot. Despite some definitive logistical challenges presented by our hallways, stairwells and the size of the extension ladder, the team rallied to resolve exactly how to accommodate the issue. The job was completed efficiently and professionally; the knowledge and capability of the team was with without question. We super appreciated the "can do" attitude throughout the duration of what could have been far more stressful. Thanks, to Lane and Michael for their time, attention, and willingness to go the extra mile for this less-than-standard painting need. We also had one additional area in a stairwell in which the stairs themselves presented a challenge in reaching an area to be addressed; they knocked that out quickly and effectively as well. We've used Fix It People for electrical, plumbing, painting, grout & caulk work -- you name it. Thanks to the entire team, from estimating the job through to completion. Excellent resource for all home repair needs!
  • Avatar Will O'Hara ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Tony from Fix It People was prompt and performed some cabinet repairs quickly. Great … More experience from start to finish.
  • Avatar Eric Yee ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Tony did a great job and was very professional. We would use him and fix it people … More again
  • Avatar Eri Machida ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    I had Angel fix a couple of small projects in my new home. He was quick, efficient … More and patient. The work was done nicely, and he also gave me good advice for home maintenance. Would highly recommend!
  • Avatar Jaclyn Smith ★★★★★ 8 months ago
    Eddie did a great job with repairs and painting around our house. He was professional, … More friendly, and his work was fantastic. Joey came to help out on the last day, and did a great job as well. We will definitely be using the FixIt People again!
  • Avatar Chungah Rhee ★★★★★ a year ago
    I have used Fix It People on two occasions now and they are just amazing. This second … More time around, they had to patch up the bathroom wall (after my fiance tried to spackle himself!).There was some miscommunication with access into the building (I was not home) but Armando was so incredibly accommodating. He waited for an hour (on one of the coldest days in Chicago nonetheless) until I was available, and he did a fantastic job patching up all the holes, paint matching, and painting the wall to look absolutely flawless.HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!! Thank you, Armando!
  • Avatar Reilly Gill ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    I hired the Fix it People for a pretty extensive remodel of my new condo and they … More did an incredible job. My project manager, Taylar, kept me posted on everything that was going on and made me feel very in the loop. She also took my sometimes lofty and vague ideas and made them approachable and attainable. The contractors were respectful of other people living in my building and of the building’s common areas. The quality of their work is top notch, too. They offered to come in and follow up on things after the project was completed, which is so helpful. I would absolutely vouch for them and hire them again.
  • Avatar Neal T. Gregus ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Overall: I could not recommend Tom, Juan and the Fix It People team more for refinishing/staining … More wood floors.My fiance and I purchased a home with wood floors that were in desperate need of refinishing and staining from light to dark on a complicated wood palette (maple with + Brazilian cherry inlay = stained dark with a mix of espresso + honey stains). We planned to make this happen only days after moving in, and we were hopeful that the Fix It People would be able to complete the job quickly to continue settling in.Our work was done ahead of schedule, the workers were professional and respectful and returned after the day of drying to fix any and every small imperfection to make the entire floor look seamless and flawless.Great value and great people!
  • Avatar Amy Crumrine ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    Tom and his team were very responsive and easy to work with. Kamil painted my kitchen … More cabinets and I am so happy with them. He was also very considerate, timely, and easy to have in my home. Would definitely use this team again!
  • Avatar Gorge hackler ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    Look no further because he is the man, ultra professional, knowledgeable and quick … More to respond to requests. He is meticulous and his work is of the highest caliber. Super friendly and easy to work with. Definitely highly recommended.
  • Avatar Stephany Oliveros ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    We have been recommending Fix It People to our clients who are homeowners and landlords … More for a couple of years now. They have been consistent in delivering prompt service at reasonable prices. Their bids are detailed and professionally written that allows us to have a better understanding of overall costs and making us very well informed on the proper action to take. If you're a property owner that needs maintenance or preparing your home for sale, reach out to them and you won't be disappointed.
  • Avatar Jenny Plagman ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I had the best experience with Fix It People. We needed to paint our entire house … More and reached out to FIP for a quote. We ended up using them and I am SO GLAD we did. They were professional, on time, and did an excellent job. All of my friends (even the non-observant ones) commented on how nice the paint job looks. The lines are SO crisp! We will definitely be using them to remodel our kitchen. Use these guys — you won’t regret it!!
  • Avatar Anjali Nakhooda ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    I've used Fix It twice -- once to repair damaged drywall and, most recently, … More to replace rotten deck boards. Both experiences were excellent. The technicians were really skilled and did an expert job. The final cost was in both cases at or below the estimate -- and very reasonable, particularly for such high quality work. I'll be using them again for sure!
  • Avatar Jenny Merritt ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Fix It People did a great job with many projects at our new home, especially installing … More beautiful new floors and cleaning and fixing things before we moved in. They were willing to come back and help with additional items we noticed too. Tom Patten was great to work with and Jose did a great job with everything. Highly recommend!
  • Avatar Chris Wentland ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Early March, I hired Fix It People to assist with a garage drywall project. The project … More manager did a great job with helping me coordinate with other companies. Their drywallers did an incredible job! And they went the extra mile to finish early. I could not have been happier and I would highly recommend their services.
  • Avatar Andrew Montesantos ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Professional from start to finish. From here on out, I’ll go to these guys for … More everything from lawn care to full gut jobs. It’s nice to have a skill set like this at your fingertips for anything that needs fixing.
  • Avatar Suzanne Hock ★★★★★ a year ago
    I had the staff from Fix It People work on many projects on my new condo this fall. … More I have nothing but high praise for this organization. They were timely, responsive, and the work was done very well. Roger with electrical work, Angel with general carpentry, and Eric with plumbing and installing a beautiful new back splash were all in my home and I was impressed with their skills and work ethic. They all were professional, arriving on time, got right to work and cleaned up when they were done. Also, the costs and estimates were always clearly explained so there were no surprises. I would recommended them and will use their services again when needed.
  • Avatar Brian Bauer ★★★★★ a year ago
    I had Fix It People complete a punch list of projects for my building that everyone … More else couldn't seem to finish/get right. They did an excellent job, from the project management, on job performance, and follow up. Will use them again!Best of all, I appreciated the candor .. I wanted them to fix some tile, and they were astute enough to realize that it wouldn't look right even after patching.. and that the real problem was the tile was incorrectly installed initially. Even though it's not the answer I wanted to hear, it is the answer that will make me happiest. Thank you Leo, Lane, Tony, Joey and Taylar!
  • Avatar Annie Iles ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    We had a great experience using Fix It People to repair water damage that came in … More above a window in our master bedroom. We were able to handle a lot of the details via email, everything was clear, the team was responsive, etc. We were also able to have Leo, our tech, come when we were gone (to live into social distancing), and everything looked perfect when we returned. We will use Fix It People again!
  • Avatar Kyle Perks ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    My handyman did a great repair job of our kitchen. Contactless safe too!
  • Avatar James Scherer ★★★★★ a year ago
    They replaced silicone around my leaking shower door. Michael and Lane both did an … More excellent job and were a pleasure to work with. The quote and payment were very fair. I will definitely use their services again!
  • Avatar Lisa Babcock ★★★★★ a year ago
    Great work - Tom was a pleasure to work with. He and his team are professional, knowledgeable … More and thorough. They helped us update our investment condo in a downtown high rise and handled all of the building requirements for the work. We will definitely use them again for future projects.
  • Avatar Kevin Boggs ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I have referred several clients to Fix It People and have been completely impressed … More at the professionalism and feedback from the company! Highly recommend.
  • Avatar Matthew Gibson ★★★★ a year ago
    The manager promptly reached out after my initial review and explained what happened … More along the way, changes he's working on internally to address my concerns, and did what he could to make it right. Appreciate working with a company that has a hands on leadership - reassuring to know that if there is an issue they treat each customer as if they were the only customer. Def will do business with them again
  • Avatar John Balamuta ★★★★★ a year ago
    Very happy with the entire experience working with Fix It People to paint our house … More (indoors and out). Tom was knowledgeable during the walkthrough, quickly provided a detailed quote, and was responsive and articulate throughout the job. Isaiah and Emil were friendly and capable, always willing to go the extra yard to make sure everything looked great. Highly recommended!
  • Avatar Mike Veldhuis ★★★★★ a year ago
    Had a positive experience with these guys. They were very accommodating to work … More with our busy schedule and the price did not exceed what they quoted us. We will be our go to if we have anymore water damage issues...or anything else that needs done in our building.Good job, Tom and your team! You did a great job!
  • Avatar Michael Walsh ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Quality work and great service for a fair price. Keep up the good work, guys.
  • Avatar Hay Fer ★★★★★ a year ago
    Darrin did an EXCELLENT job. He came over to fix the clogs in both my bathroom tub … More and sink as well as a drip in my kitchen faucet. He made sure to explain everything he was doing, did tests to make sure the job was completely done, and showed me everything making sure I was happy with the result. My kitchen faucet was so rusted that he had to cut it out but he took PICTURES to prove to my landlord that it was work that needed to be done. The tub was my biggest priority and its finally draining again and he made sure to be thorough. He was also extremely friendly and even chatted with me! Which is a HUGE plus for me when dealing with any specialty worker coming into my home. I felt super comfortable placing my trust in him and he is VERY good at what he does, I was beyond impressed. I highly recommend him to anyone.
  • Avatar Val Byrne ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Excellent service, incredible attention to detail, and managed by an easygoing guy. … More Love them and highly recommend.
  • Avatar Hannah W ★★★★★ a year ago
    I had a great experience using Fix It People. Pricing was reasonable and they were … More very easy to work with. Joey and Leo did a great job!
  • Avatar Ed Johnson ★★★★★ a year ago
    I’ve used Fix It People for multiple project but this last one cemented them as … More my go to contractors. They just finished a bathroom renovation and it’s spectacular! They installed new tiles, moved some electrical, installed new lighting and fixtures and installed a new medicine cabinet. Their pricing is competitive but fair. Their professionalism is unmatched. I recommend them for any projects big or small.
  • Avatar Patti Ushman ★★★★★ a year ago
    Roger did a great job replacing the caulk in our bathrooms before our new tenant … More moved in. The process to get setup with someone was very easy. Would recommend Fix it People.
  • Avatar Klara ★★★★★ a year ago
    I was so happy with the work done by Fix It People! They gave me a quick estimate, … More were so easy to work with throughout the job, and achieved great results. I'd recommend them for any home improvement job.
  • Avatar Sara Grossman ★★★★★ a year ago
    Fix It People did a wonderful job painting our condo, including our kitchen cabinetry. … More Tom was responsive and helpful. All of the painters were friendly and showed up on time. I would absolutely recommend Fix It People and will use them again for future projects.
  • Avatar Jason Corletta ★★★★★ a year ago
    I recently had my kitchen redone by Fix It People and they are the best around. They … More are professional, accommodating and upfront about the project, the costs and the time frame. They make a process that can be overwhelming simple and enjoyable. I especially enjoyed working with Tom, Mirek, Kamil and Jose, they are not only experts at their craft but great people! I will definitely be using them again for any future projects.
  • Avatar Kay Dawson ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I've had great experiences with FIP. Highly recommend.
  • Avatar Bryan Bamonte ★★★★★ a year ago
    Just wrapped a drywall repair from water damage project with Fix it People. Armando … More worked on our house and he was professional, timely and ensured the work was complete and turned out great. Given the lack of professional and responsive contractors in the city, Fix It People exceeded all of our expectations. We look forward to working with them in the future
  • Avatar Bryan Quick ★★★★★ a year ago
    Everyone arrived on time and did a great job! The work was all completed on time … More and done with high quality, and they were extra careful to make sure they didn't damage anything. I definitely would use again!
  • Avatar Lora Cimino ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    I would recommend Fix it People to anyone that needs some work in their house. They … More were readily available to give the estimate and wasted no time in scheduling days to the work. The guys that came to my condo, Joey and Angel, were great! They were nice and extremely helpful.
  • Avatar Matt Johnson ★★★★★ a year ago
    I’ve used FIP twice and they really do good work for decent prices. First job involved … More installing two ceiling fans and pendant light fixture. Roger was awesome and even fixed a switch problem I was having in another room. 2nd project involved replacing a sink, faucet, and garbage disposal. There were some curveballs on that one but FIP did a great job getting it right. Will likely hire them again!
  • Avatar Paul Crossey ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    These guys are great. We contracted FIX IT People to paint several areas of a 3-flat. … More Scheduling was fast and getting a timely site survey and estimate from Mike went smoothly. Jose and Carlos came out to do the job - they are skilled, hardworking, detail oriented and friendly. We were very pleased with the quality of work and the reasonable prices. Highly recommended!
  • Avatar Neal Therrien ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    I have worked with Tom and the Fix It People team on multiple projects. They do quality … More work and really are a jack of all trades when it comes to repairs and home improvement. They are very professional, set realistic expectations and have great communication. I highly recommend reaching out to them for any need in those categories.
  • Avatar Hannah Bloom-Hirschberg ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Angel came out today originally for some plumbing issues. Not only was he incredibly … More knowledgeable but he also caught an error that a previous contractor had made! His honesty and knowledge saved us money and hassle. And he even dealt with some last minute jobs I asked about. He was on-time and very efficient. I would highly recommend him and I will definitely use him, and Fix It People, the next time I need this sort of work done.
  • Avatar Monika Schoenbeck ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Very pleased with Fix It People and the responsiveness of Tom and Angel! Angel did … More some work for us and he was very professional and made sure I was happy with the job before he left. Can highly recommend them!
  • Avatar Brad Ziemba ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    We really like Fix It People! Taylar P, Mike M and Amie made the estimate and scheduling … More an easy process. We had a room painted, some trim work repaired, a few outlets added and ceiling light replaced. The turnaround time was within in a week. Specifically, Roger (electrician), Enrique (painter) and Mark (painter) did a great job!
  • Avatar Jeff-Rosen Jen-Keys ★★★★★ a year ago
    Easy office to work with. Tried really hard to accomodate my busy schedule which … More was much appreciated. Visit for the estimate took 5 minutes, had a quote that night. Sent a very good technician who worked quickly and cleaned up a good size drywall repair very well. They made it like my drywall water intrusion problem never happened. HIghly recommended.
  • Avatar Travis Campbell ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Absolutely fantastic. The booking process was simple, the handyman showed up EXACTLY … More on time and carrying everything he needed, and the work was done quickly and professionally. Even paying the bill online was easy and intuitive. I thoroughly recommend and will be using them again myself.
  • Avatar Julie Sick ★★★★★ 2 years ago
    Fix It People really live up to their name! Their customer service is outstanding. … More Their work is impeccable, and Tori, Rafael, Mark, and Jeremy (and Mike) all worked so hard to get our drywall repair/paint job just right and on deadline. Highly recommended!!!

View Google Reviews Leave A Review

TESTIMONIALS

Our customers
say it best

We like to think our work speaks for itself, but it’s nice when our customers chime in. We’re proud to help our fellow Chicagoans —and of the nice things they say about us.

Fix It People IconFix It People

2837 North Halsted Street #1s, Chicago

4.7 118 reviews

  • Avatar Paige Lassen ★★★★★ in the last week
    The Fix It People team of Joe & Victor did a fantastic job repairing extensive … More water damage resulting from an ice dam situation. They were punctual, very professional, thorough, and kept us informed about their progress along the way. They went above and beyond AND finished on time. Additionally, they noticed a problem with our door which we planned to get repaired and sent Tony out to take care of it! Will definitely use them again.
  • Avatar Cooper Slack ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I called the Fix It People to help with a door handle that had broken off. The team … More at Fix It were able to get back to me promptly via email with an easy process of approving quotes and such. Taylar was able to come get it fixed and was in and out within 5 minutes or so! Will call again for any fixes I need.
  • Avatar Patricia Calore ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    The best! We've been a repeat customer since late 2016. Fix It People has … More been an extremely reliable resource for numerous issues requiring attention within our condo. Most recently, we had a need for painting of a portion of our 20' ceiling; we are a 3rd floor walk-up to boot. Despite some definitive logistical challenges presented by our hallways, stairwells and the size of the extension ladder, the team rallied to resolve exactly how to accommodate the issue. The job was completed efficiently and professionally; the knowledge and capability of the team was with without question. We super appreciated the “can do” attitude throughout the duration of what could have been far more stressful. Thanks, to Lane and Michael for their time, attention, and willingness to go the extra mile for this less-than-standard painting need. We also had one additional area in a stairwell in which the stairs themselves presented a challenge in reaching an area to be addressed; they knocked that out quickly and effectively as well. We've used Fix It People for electrical, plumbing, painting, grout & caulk work — you name it. Thanks to the entire team, from estimating the job through to completion. Excellent resource for all home repair needs!